Golden Stern Award

Golden Stern Award
ELIMINATED 2/9/2016. Donated in 2006 by the Goodwin’s and Cape Cod Shipbuilding Co., is awarded to the last place finisher of the Shields Nationals Regatta (who actually competes). The award recognizes the effort it takes to race in a national regatta and that last place is far superior to not participating at all. It is expected that in the year to come both the trophy and its recipients will be improved for the next Nationals. This stern section was a casualty of contact that came from a boat repaired by Cape Cod Shipbuilding Co. and is ably sailing again.
YearAward WinnerWinner's FleetHost FleetDetails
2015Betsy Deblois YaleNewport, RINewport, RI
Ida Lewis Yacht Club
2015 Results
2014Eric AndersonMonterey, CAW. Long Island Sound, NY
Larchmont Yacht Club
2014 Results
2013Roland Schulz
Jim Alpi
Larchmont, NY
Oxford, MD
Oxford, MD
Tred Avon Yacht Club
2013 Results
2012Sam VeilleuxChicago, ILMarion, MA
Beverly Yacht Club
2012 Results
2011Marianne NashSanta Cruz, CAOyster Bay, NY
Seawanhaka Corinthian YC
2011 Results
2010Berkeley GreenIrvine, CAMystic, CT
Mason's Island Yacht Club
2010 Results
2009Richard RobbinsMarion, MAChicago, IL
Chicago Yacht Club
2009 Results
2008Gugy IrvingOxford, MDOxford, MD
Tred Avon Yacht Club
2008 Results
2007Garth HobsonPacific Grove, CANewport, RI
Ida Lewis Yacht Club
2007 Results
2006Benjamin HallMarion, MABuzzards Bay/Marion, MA
Beverly Yacht Club
2006 Results